Winners of the Australian Malt Whisky Tasting Championship 2018!

//Winners of the Australian Malt Whisky Tasting Championship 2018!

Winners of the Australian Malt Whisky Tasting Championship 2018!

Last Saturday night saw the biggest whisky tasting in Australia take place with the Australian Malt Whisky Tasting Championship for 2018 kick off.

We’d like to formally congratulate the winners of the Champs, plus a huge round of applause to all who competed at this absolutely packed event!

3rd place:
Matthew Wooler (NSW)

2nd place:
Matt Whisker (NSW)

Australia’s Malt Whisky Tasting Champion 2018

Brooke Hayman (Vic)

A very special thanks to Murray & Ryan on the SMWS bar, Ross & Andy from The Balvenie, Scott from The Oak Barrel, Geordie from Aussie Shots, the entire Australian Museum staff, and to all of you for coming to such an incredible evening of tasting and guessing great whisky!

Until Champs 2020, we hope to see you at one of our Society events soon! If you’re not a member of the SMWS but wish to join, use this link to join and you’ll go into the draw to win a very special Society bottling!

We’d love you to share any photos you took on the night on our Facebook group, or tag us on Instagram @smws_aus

The full list of whiskies on taste in the Championship, in order:

#1: Glengoyne 10yo
#2: Lagavulin 8yo
#3: Glen Grant The Major’s Reserve
#4: Glen Moray Classic
#5: Aberfeldy 12yo
#6: Auchentoshan American Oak
#7: Teeling Single Malt
#8: Ardbeg 10yo
Red Herring: The Balvenie 12yo DoubleWood


#1: The Balvenie 12 DoubleWood
#2: The Macallan 12 Double Cask
#3: Aberlour 12 Double Cask

Final Taste-Off:

#1: Bunnahabhain 12


About the Author:

Matt Bailey is the Branch Director for the Scotch Malt Whisky Society Australia. He's tirelessly trying to meet every member and share a dram with you all.

Register as a Taster!